Kellogg’s Special K Bliss Cereal Bar

March 28, 2007 at 11:24 pm 1 comment

Bliss Cereal Bar
Price free – it was a gift
Serving: 22g bar
Calories: 88
Fat: 2g – 1g saturated / 0g trans
Sodium: 0.05g
Carbs: 16g
Fibre: 0.9g
Protein: 0.9g

The Score: 4 out of 5

Compared to what there is available in the UK, Canada’s selection of granola/cereal bars is pitiful and unimaginative. My roommate was kind enough to bring me more gifts and this time it was a nice little cereal bar.

I live off of snacks. If there is a satisfying snack that I can grab, I’ll do it. They’re easy to throw in my bag and open up during lecture or if I’m on the bus. It keeps my blood sugar from running too low if I’m not at home and don’t have money on me. At or even under 100 calories, they don’t make a dent in my calorific intake for the day.

I did notice that for such a small bar, the 16g of carbs is a little high. It’s also not very filling – since it is mostly just cereal. It lacks both protein and fibre so I wouldn’t think this could sustain someone for very long. It’s a snack and definitely not a meal replacement.

The Look: I put a sharpie pen next to the bar to show scale. The bar itself is only about three inches long. It’s not very big at all. But the chocolate coating covers the entire base, it’s not just a zig zag drizzle. You can see the chunks of raspberries and the different kinds of puffy rice cereal. There are also what I believe to be oat bran pieces.

The Smell: Slightly fruity. You do smell that chocolate.

The Taste: It is amazing. Fabulously sweet. The combination of the different textures – chewy fruit bits and the crunchy cereal is great. The chocolate, raspberry together balances the sweet and tangy nicely. The light cereal even contributes in making the taste not too sweet, but sweet enough that it hits the spot for a chocolate treat. It’s chewy – not at all like the stiff and often tough brick that are the Special K bars here.

The Verdict: Definitely a favorite of mine. I’m not even going to get into the cliche appropriateness of this product’s name. I wish they were sold these in Canada. With only 88 calories you can’t go wrong. My regret is only that it is so tiny and it makes me want to grab another. But it’s better than any cereal bar on the market to date here. It puts the Special K bars here to shame. It beats it in taste. You don’t even realize you’re eating a ”diet” cereal bar. If you ever get a chance to try one, I highly recommend it.

Entry filed under: bar, four, kellogg's, uk.

Options choc Mint Madness

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jderty  |  April 1, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    welcome to wordpress!
    interesting idea for a blog!! i’m a little sad that i’m not in the UK though now. But this blog has certainly opened my eyes… it has helped to (partially) tear down the stereotype that Brisih food is bland and horrible and awful.
    but we are talking packaged food here for the most part…

    anyway. nicenice!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives